精英危险中文站 维基
Advertisement


{{Quote|這些堅固的個人計算設備由科技公司Herculean Machines製造,在整個銀河系中使用。 'Duradrive是由Herculean Machines製造的稀有商品,可在Anima系統的Cowper Dock購買。Duradrive是一款為耐用性而設計的厚重平板電腦,可與各種外設進行定制,專為那些努力工作並期望他們的工具能夠經受住挑戰的人而設計。[1][2]繼3304年10月3日在Rackham Ultratech Expo上成功亮相後,Herculean Machines獲得了額外的資金來製造Duradrive的零售型號。[3]12月27日,聯邦海軍下達了Duradrives的大訂單,以便將該設備作為標準裝備分發給其成員。[4]</ref>

歷史

製造麻煩

3304年9月14日,一位元匿名消息人士透露,"大力神機器 "的老闆Maddox Hurd曾因接受與紅色家族等有組織犯罪網路有關的個人的資助而受到聯邦安全局的調查。雖然赫德在技術上沒有觸犯法律,但聯邦安全局對他進行了觀察。在這一消息傳出後,大力神機器的一些企業投資者撤回了支持。Maddox Hurd指責對手公司Supratech對他進行抹黑,但沒有證據支持他的說法。無論如何,如果沒有額外的資金支援,Herculean Machines不太可能按計劃參加Rackham Ultratech Expo。[5]

3304年9月20日,Herculean Machines和它的競爭對手Supratech發起了競爭性的商品宣傳活動,以支持其個人電腦設計的發佈。Herculean Machines的活動在Anima的Cowper Dock舉辦。Herculean Machines的老闆Maddox Hurd表示:"Duradrive在動力和可定制性方面無法與之匹敵。在這個充滿挑戰的時代,人們需要的是一款強大的產品,而不是一些暴露在僵硬的微風中就會發生故障的短暫玩具。"[6]該活動取得了成功,Hurd表示他的公司收到了 "令人敬畏的回應"。[7]科技記者Harlow Nassry評論說,Supratech和Herculean Machines都已經恢復了開發工作,並將能夠及時為Rackham Ultratech博覽會生產出功能原型,但每家公司在宣傳活動中獲得的商品數量可能是其商業成功的決定性因素。[8]

3304年10月12日,Herculean Machines公司開始大規模生產Duradrive個人電腦。在其原型機在Rackham Ultratech Expo上的成功表現後,該公司獲得了來自Rackham Capital Investments等一系列來源的企業資金。Herculean Machines的首席執行官Maddox Hurd告訴媒體。"正如我之前所說,人們需要的是一個可靠的工具,它足夠強硬,可以處理任何事情。我想再次感謝銀河系社區提供的商品,讓我們的成功成為可能。" 競爭對手CEO天蠍座-德沃洛沒有發表評論。[9]

聯邦海軍合同

3304年12月27日,Maddox Hurd宣佈,聯邦海軍希望將Duradrives作為標準配置發給其成員,並下了一大筆訂單。為了完成這個訂單,赫氏機械公司與布拉特裡姆普同盟公司商品部合作,確保在布拉特裡姆普的波爾茨曼樞紐交付關鍵製造部件。此外,還對系統中的通緝船下達了殺戮令,以保證運輸通道暢通,赫德暗示他的競爭對手天蠍座-德沃洛可能會試圖破壞這次活動。[4]活動圓滿結束,CEO赫德對參與者表示感謝。"我再一次感謝銀河系社區的支持 我們很高興成為聯邦海軍的供應商,我們希望Duradrive能保持長期、長時間的生產。"[10]

備註

參考文獻

Advertisement

FANDOM


These robust personal computing devices, manufactured by technology company Herculean Machines, are used throughout the galaxy.

— In-Game Description

The Duradrive is a Rare Commodity manufactured by Herculean Machines and available for purchase at Cowper Dock in the Anima system. A chunky tablet designed for durability that can be customized with a wide range of peripherals, the Duradrive is designed for those who work hard and expect their tools to stand up to the challenge.[1][2] Following a successful debut at the Rackham Ultratech Expo on October 3, 3304, Herculean Machines acquired additional funding to manufacture retail models of the Duradrive.[3] On December 27, the Federal Navy placed a large order for Duradrives in order to distribute the devices to its members as standard-issue equipment.[4]

HistoryEdit

Manufacturing troubles Edit

On September 14, 3304, an anonymous source revealed that Herculean Machines' owner Maddox Hurd was previously investigated by the Federal Security Service for accepting financial contributions from individuals connected to organised-crime networks, such as the Red Family. While Hurd did not technically break the law, the FSS kept him under observation. In the wake of this news, a number of Herculean Machines' corporate investors withdrew their support. Maddox Hurd accused rival company Supratech of running a smear campaign against him, but had no evidence to back up his claims. Regardless, without additional financial support, Herculean Machines was unlikely to attend the Rackham Ultratech Expo as planned.[5]

On September 20, 3304, Herculean Machines and its rival Supratech launched competing campaigns for commodities to support the release of their personal computer designs. Herculean Machines' campaign was hosted at Cowper Dock, Anima. Herculean Machines owner Maddox Hurd stated, "The Duradrive cannot be rivalled for power or customisability. What people need in this challenging age is a robust product, not some ephemeral toy that malfunctions when exposed to a stiff breeze."[6] The campaign was a success, and Hurd stated that his company had received "an awe-inspiring response".[7] Technology journalist Harlow Nassry commented that both Supratech and Herculean Machines had resumed development and would be able to produce functional prototypes in time for the Rackham Ultratech Expo, but the amount of commodities each company received in their campaigns could be the deciding factor in their commercial success.[8]

A stellar debut Edit

At the Rackham Ultratech Expo on October 3, 3304, Herculean Machines and Supratech finally presented prototypes of the Duradrive and the Torc. Unfortunately for Supratech, the Torc's holographic systems did not work as planned. Most users were surrounded by an incomprehensible aura of colours and images that, in some cases, brought on nausea. The Duradrive, by contrast, functioned perfectly. The highlight of the expo came when Zachary Rackham tested a Duradrive by jumping on it, before using it to contact his chief accountant and authorise preliminary funding for the device. He told the crowd, "I could have done with one of these back in my spacefaring days!" Harlow Nassry stated that the support given to Herculean Machines by the galactic community allowed them to deliver a superior product, and the Duradrive could be expected on the market soon.[3]

Herculean Machines began mass production of the Duradrive personal computer on October 12, 3304. Following the successful performance of its prototype at the Rackham Ultratech Expo, the company received corporate funding from a range of sources, including Rackham Capital Investments. Maddox Hurd, CEO of Herculean Machines, told the media: "As I've said before, what people want is a reliable tool that is tough enough to handle anything. I'd like to once again thank the galactic community for providing the commodities that made our success possible." There was no comment from rival CEO Scorpio DeVorrow.[9]

Federal Navy contract Edit

On December 27, 3304, Maddox Hurd announced that the Federal Navy wanted to make Duradrives standard issue to its members and had placed a large order. To fulfill that order, Herculean Machines had partnered with Blatrimpe Allied Co Commodities to secure deliveries of key manufacturing components at Boltzmann Hub in Blatrimpe. A kill order was also placed on wanted ships in the system to keep shipping lanes clear for the deliveries, with Hurd implying that his rival Scorpio DeVorrow may try to disrupt the campaign.[4] The campaign concluded successfully, with CEO Hurd thanking participants: "Once again, I offer my thanks to the galactic community for its support. We're very pleased to become a supplier to the Federal Navy, and we hope that the Duradrive remains in production for a long, long time."[10]

Notes Edit

References Edit

  1. Computer Firms Promote New Designs
  2. GalNet: New Computer Designs Announced
  3. 3.0 3.1 GalNet: Herculean Machines Dominates Expo
  4. 4.0 4.1 GalNet: Herculean Machines Initiative
  5. GalNet: Investors Abandon Herculean Machines
  6. GalNet: Appeal for Computing Commodities
  7. GalNet: Commodities Appeal Concludes
  8. GalNet: Computer Companies Resume Development
  9. GalNet: Duradrive Enters Production
  10. GalNet: Herculean Machines Initiative Concludes
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.