精英危险中文站 维基
Advertisement

A mycoid storage tank

Mycoid(Mycoid),也被稱為 "Mycoid病毒"和 "Mycoid顆粒",是一種基於真菌的生化武器,由銀河系海軍後備軍開發,用於在第一次Thargoid戰爭中打擊Thargoid。雖然在當時具有毀滅性的效果,但據信Thargoids在最初接觸到mycoid後已經對其產生了免疫力,因此在第二次Thargoid戰爭中使用mycoid的可能性非常小。

歷史

發現

Hollis Gateway

INRA知道Thargoid技術有一部分是生物性的,但他們無法找到一種方法來利用這一事實。[1]在Hermitage系統的Hollis Gateway設施對Thargoid技術的研究,是眾多INRA秘密基地之一,最終獲得了一個意外的發現。一位研究Thargoid技術的農業應用的初級研究員注意到某種類型的真菌對其產生的有害影響。該研究員向INRA的領導層報告了他的發現,但他的上司、首席研究員Bexley Prince卻不以為然。[2][3] INRA的興趣被激起了,他們繼續研究,後來儘管初級研究員有道德方面的顧慮,他們還是將這種真菌發展成一種生化武器,稱為 "mycoid"。[4]

測試和生產

Klatt Enterprises

Mycoid武器被帶到Alnath的Klatt Enterprises進行測試。人們希望這種生化武器能夠被用來攻擊Thargoid的超空間引擎並使其喪失能力,阻止Thargoid的旅行,並一舉結束戰爭。對Thargoid的技術和兩個被俘的Thargoid標本的測試結果證實,Mycoid對兩者都有削弱作用,導致癱瘓和廣泛的退化。在這一點上,一些研究人員離開了該項目,以抗議將活體標本用於武器實驗的做法。然而,其他人認為Thargoid只懂得破壞,並會不惜一切代價滅絕人類。那些親眼看到他們的武器效果的人--看到破壞、混亂和屍體--希望他們受苦。因此,他們認為使用生化武器以防止Thargoid造成災難性的生命損失是一種道德義務。[1][5]

INRA Stack base Thargoid octagonal pit

對活體Thargoid標本的實驗也發生在名為Stack的INRA基地裡。他們建造了一些測試儀器和一個安全的圍牆。它的形狀像一個八角形的坑。回收的安全報告顯示,Thargoid標本曾多次試圖逃跑,最近的一次導致了一些人的死亡。該標本似乎身體健康狀況不佳,但無疑是活著。該標本具有很強的復原力,似乎能夠承受嚴重的身體創傷,甚至是失去四肢。化學和生化武器在該標本上進行了測試。[6]

由於其有效性毋庸置疑,mycoid隨後在多個INRA設施中被大量生產,如HIP59382的Mayes化工廠,然後被運到HIP7158的Hogan倉庫進行儲存,隨後被分配到其他各個地點。[7][8]

疫苗開發

其中一個地點是LP 389-95的維拉斯克斯醫學研究中心(Velasquez Medical Research Center),在那裡生產了一種肌酸菌疫苗。雖然該疫苗不能逆轉已經由Mycoid引起的損害,但它可以完全阻止武器的傳播,並防止進一步的損害。當疫苗完成後,該設施被關閉,工作人員被重新安置,所有的研究都被移除。[9]

部署

在特裡安古利12區(12 Trianguli)的泰勒堡(Taylor Keep),為部署mycoid來對付Thargoid做了最後的準備工作。一批中程導彈由克拉特企業(Klatt Enterprises)提供,並配備了武器化的肌酸。INRA雇傭了著名的指揮官John Jameson來運送有效載荷,為這次任務改裝了他的Cobra MkIII,並為其配備了導彈。[10] 詹姆森離開了基地,他認為他負責部署的武器只會讓Thargoid的超空間引擎失效。[11]

指揮官 Jameson的墜毀飛船

在成功地向一艘Thargoid母艦發射了mycoid導彈並成功逃脫後,詹姆森驚恐地從他的感測器中得知,這種武器不僅使敵人的船隻失去功能,而且實際上正在殺死船上的每一個Thargoid。不幸的是,詹姆森沒能活著說出這個故事。INRA安裝了一個程式,關閉了他的飛船系統,以確保他不會從任務中返回。他的飛船在HIP 12099 1 B.[11]墜毀。

遺產

人們相信,mycoid武器殺死了足夠多的Thargoid,迫使他們在3151年之前完全從人類空間撤退,結束了第一次Thargoid戰爭。3303年9月28日在HIP 17125系統中發現的Thargoid Scout殘骸的分析證實,該船已被Mycoid污染,可能是指揮官 Jameson成功攻擊的眾多受害者之一。

在3303年重新發現了幾個廢棄的INRA基地,這些基地曾開發和測試過mycoid,以及指揮官 Jameson的飛船殘骸,其中包括他的任務的音訊記錄,在第一次Thargoid衝突中,INRA使用mycoid的道德困境成為公眾的爭議點。然而,人們普遍認為Thargoids後來對mycoid產生了免疫力,使得它在第二次Thargoid戰爭中成為對他們無效的武器。[12]

視頻

畫廊

參考資料

Advertisement

FANDOM


Mycoid-Virus-Storage-Tank

A mycoid storage tank

Mycoid, also referred to as the "mycoid virus" and the "mycoid particle", is a fungus-based biological weapon that was developed by the Intergalactic Naval Reserve Arm to combat the first Thargoid invasion in the mid-3100's. Although devastatingly effective at the time, the Thargoids are believed to have developed an immunity to mycoid since their initial exposure to it, making the use of mycoid in the Second Thargoid War highly unlikely.

HistoryEdit

DiscoveryEdit

INRA-Base-Hermitage-4-A

Hollis Gateway

INRA knew that Thargoid tech was partly biological, but they couldn’t find a way to use that fact to their advantage.[1] Research into Thargoid technology at Hollis Gateway facility in the Hermitage system, one of several secret INRA bases, eventually yielded an accidental discovery. A junior researcher looking into the agricultural applications of Thargoid tech noted the deleterious effects of a certain type of fungus on it. The researcher reported his find to INRA leadership, going over the head of his dismissive superior, Chief Researcher Bexley Prince.[2][3] INRA's interest was piqued and they ran with the research, later developing the fungus into a biologicial weapon known as "mycoid" despite the junior researcher's ethical qualms.[4]

Testing and productionEdit

Klatt-Enterprises-Mycoid

Klatt Enterprises

The mycoid weapon was taken to Klatt Enterprises in Alnath for testing. It was hoped that the bioweapon could be used to attack Thargoid hyperdrives and incapacitate them, stopping the Thargoids from traveling and ending the war in a single stroke. Test results on both Thargoid technology and two captured Thargoid specimens confirmed that the mycoid was debilitating to both, causing paralysis and extensive degeneration. At this point, several researchers left the project in protest over the use of the living specimens for weapon experimentation. However, others believed the Thargoids only understood destruction and would stop at nothing to exterminate humans. Those who had seen, first hand, the effect of their weapons – seen the destruction, the chaos, the bodies – wanted them to suffer. Thus they considered it a moral obligation to use the bioweapon to prevent a catastrophic loss of human life by the Thargoids.[1][5]

INRA-Stack-Base-Thargoid-Octagonal-Pit

INRA Stack base Thargoid octagonal pit

Experiments on a living Thargoid specimen also occurred at the INRA base named Stack. They built some testing apparatus and a secure enclosure. It's shaped like an octagonal pit. Recovered security reports indicate that the Thargoid specimen made several escape attempts, the most recent of which results in a number of deaths. The specimen appeared to be in poor physical health, but undoubtedly alive. The specimen was highly resilient and seemed to be able to withstand severe physical trauma, even to the point of losing limbs. Chemical and biological weapons were tested on the specimen.[6]

With its effectiveness beyond doubt, mycoid was then mass-produced at multiple INRA facilities, such as Mayes Chemical Plant in HIP 59382, before being shipped to Hogan Depot in HIP 7158 for storage and subsequent distribution to various additional sites.[7][8]

Vaccine developmentEdit

One of those sites was Velasquez Medical Research Center in LP 389-95, where a vaccine for mycoid was produced. Although the vaccine could not reverse damage already caused by mycoid, it could completely halt the weapon's spread and prevent further damage. When the vaccine was completed, the facility was shut down, with the staff relocated and all research removed.[9]

DeploymentEdit

Final preparations to deploy mycoid against the Thargoids were made at Taylor Keep in 12 Trianguli. A consignment of medium-range missiles were armed with weaponized mycoid from Klatt Enterprises. INRA hired the famous CMDR John Jameson to deliver the payload, modifying his Cobra MkIII for the mission and equipping it with the missiles.[10] Jameson departed the base believing the weapon he was tasked with deploying would only disable the Thargoids' hyperdrives.[11]

John Jameson's Cobra MkIII

CMDR Jameson's crashed ship

After successfully launching the mycoid missiles at a Thargoid Mothership and making his escape, Jameson was horrified to learn from his sensors that the weapon was not just disabling the enemy vessel, but was in fact killing every Thargoid on board. Unfortunately, Jameson did not live to tell the tale. INRA had installed a program that shut down his ship's systems to ensure that he did not return from his mission. His ship crashed on HIP 12099 1 B.[11]

Legacy Edit

It is believed that the mycoid weapon killed enough Thargoids to force them to retreat from human space entirely by 3151. Analysis of Thargoid Scout wreckage discovered in the HIP 17125 system on September 28, 3303 confirmed that the vessel had been contaminated by mycoid, and was likely one of many victims of CMDR Jameson's successful attack.

Following the rediscovery in 3303 of several abandoned INRA bases where mycoid had been developed and tested, as well as the wreckage of CMDR Jameson's ship which included audio logs of his mission, the moral dilemma of INRA's use of mycoid during the first Thargoid conflict became a point of controversy among the public. However, it is widely assumed that the Thargoids have since developed an immunity to mycoid, rendering it an ineffective weapon against them in the Second Thargoid War.[12]

Videos Edit

Gallery Edit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 Klatt Enterprises - Canonn
  2. Galactic News: Abandoned INRA Outpost Discovered
  3. r/EliteDangerous: Haven't seen this here yet but the Inara base from the Expo has been discovered!
  4. Frontier Forums: INRA is ingame (Post #396)
  5. Frontier Forums: INRA is ingame (Post #420)
  6. INRA settlement Stack - Canonn
  7. Imgur.com: INRA Base - HIP 59382 1B
  8. Frontier Forums: INRA is ingame (Post #479)
  9. Frontier Forums: INRA is ingame (Post #701)
  10. /r/EliteDangerous: I've just found a new INRA Base (Taylor Keep) in 12 Trianguli 1 A.
  11. 11.0 11.1 /r/EliteDangerous: CMDR JAMESON COBRA MK3 FOUND!!
  12. Elite Dangerous Knowledge Base > The Thargoids > Vulnerabilities