精英危险中文站 维基
Advertisement

Elite Dangerous: 奧德賽》鑰匙圖描繪了站在陸地世界上的指揮

徒步活動(On Foot)之前被稱為『太空腿』(Space Leg),是《精英危機四伏:奧德賽》中的特色功能,允許指揮官直接控制自身遊戲中的角色,在無需駕駛飛船艦載機SRV的情況下探索遊戲。

概述

徒步活動讓指揮官能以新的方式探索銀河,並增加了兩個相關的飛行員聯盟階級。這是在《精英:危機四伏》中,指揮官首次能在空間站或行星地表下船去探索或參與戰鬥。進行徒步活動需要使用新設備,並且有組件(Components)、物品(Goods)和數據(Data)等新項目可獲利或是解鎖升級項目

傭兵工作

主頁: 傭兵

傭兵的工作主要集中在徒步作戰裡。這包括接受涉及地面據點目標的任務,這當中包括合法和非法的行動,可能是與前線對策簽約,成為交戰地方派系的雇傭兵,也可能是調查偏遠的興趣點,從殘骸或走私的藏匿處搜刮貴重物品。隨著指揮官殺死更多的人員和完成更多的任務,他們會提升自己的傭兵(Mercenary)等級。

外星生物研究

主頁: Exobiology

外星生物研究的重點是使用基因採集工具對行星表面發現的外來植物群進行識別和編目。從同一物種的部分樣本組合為完整的有機樣本後,該完整樣本能在Vista基因公司兌換為信用幣。星域內第一個記錄特定物種的指揮官名字將記錄在Codex中。隨著指揮官記錄越多外星植物,外星生物學等級也會提高。

大廳

主頁: Concourse

大廳是大多數站點如太空站地面站的公共區域。指揮官可以在停靠站點後下船,直接乘坐電梯到當地站點的大廳。大廳是使用某些徒步活動專用服務的唯一途徑:

興趣點

圍繞徒步活動設計的一系列新興趣點提供了戰鬥和搜刮的額外機會。

裝備

為了進行徒步活動,指揮官可以使用一系列的武器設備和其他個人裝備。徒步時,指揮官還有專門的HUD和InSight Hub等個人資訊介面。 手持武器套裝可以使用組件物品數據進行升級,也能進行工程改造

徒步限制

離開飛船進行徒步活動有其限制。飛船無法降落於大氣密度大於0.1atm的星球表面,若星球重力大於2.7G、外部溫度高於700k,又或者飛船的駕駛艙蓋破裂,則指揮官將無法離開飛船。若地表溫度因為恆星照射而高於700k,那仍舊有可能在未被照射的暗處離開飛船——該位置的溫度可能在安全範圍內。要注意的是,若此時以徒步的方式從暗處前往亮處,在溫度高於700k時指揮官就會開始承受傷害。

NPC人員

地面據點或者興趣點有可能遭遇不同類型的NPC人員。其角色會決定所攜帶的武器和工具,已經他們在地面據點中所持有的授權級別。

開發

Character concept art, Edge Issue 95 (2001)

EVA大氣逃生

在《Edge》雜誌第95期(2001年3月)中,出現第一張《精英4》的概念圖,其中包括一個早期階段的女性角色模型,並配有武器。[1]

自2012年的Kickstarter活動以來,持續有艙外活動的概念藝術出現——內容從人們在站內行走到第一人稱戰鬥和飛船維修都有。也曾出現在太空站中一名3D角色拿著武器的白模,又或者停靠的飛船裝載著貨物、飛行的無人機攜帶著貨物罐等圖像。

[2]2014年11月7日的影片中,10人中有9人最期待在飛船、太空站、星球等地方行走[2]

此內容一直是David Braben的核心願景,即指揮官在真實的未來場景中以人登場,而不僅僅是一艘飛船。[3]Elite Dangerous Development Plan影片(2012年12月14日)中,Braben談到了在行星飛船、其他人的飛船、太空站載具上行走,並成為一名狩獵者。這些艦船最初的設計便以飛船內部為中心。[4]多人共乘Holo-Me則是徒步功能的基礎。

路線圖

在機庫中行走的飛行員與Anaconda

Frontier Development有一個開發路線,除了他們打算發布的重要新功能和內容擴展外,還有小型的免費更新。其中不分先後地都提到了EVA:[5]

  • 在室內走動,對其他飛船進行戰鬥性登船。
  • 在太空站內部區域與其他指揮官和AI進行戰鬥或其他互動。

第32期遊戲速報確認了以下內容:

『我們計畫在發售日後,繼續通過進一步的擴展來大幅提升遊戲內容,使用與我們迄今為止所使用、相同的漸進式開發理念。主要的新功能將包括行星登陸,甚至隨著發展可以在飛船、空間站和星球表面行走。』[6]

『我們還計畫讓各位從座位上站起來,在飛船上走動。大家可以看到我們對飛船內部的關注和考慮程度[6]。』

『當然在你的飛船上走動會很好,但這只是遊戲玩法非常重要的擴展跳板——你將能體驗太空站內部,並與其他指揮官和AI角色進行互動,甚至可以在太空中登上別人的飛船,強行進去奪取,就像這個概念作品中所展示的那樣。當然,這將進一步擴展到在行星表面行走[6]。』

2014年6月13日的採訪片段:

Pryrios:『當你說我們會能在飛船和太空站內行走時,你是以第一人稱視角還是以第三人稱越肩視角行走?如果是第三人稱,你是否打算加入一些角色創建功能讓指揮官製作不同的角色?』[7]

David Braben:『第一人稱。』[7]

Kickstarter頁面上的開發計畫(2014年12月):『你將能在太空站裡四處走動,你能看到金礦被裝進別人的船,你也能潛入並躲在貨物之中。所有這些事情都是驚人的遊戲機會,那艘船可能真的是另一個指揮官的飛船,所以想想這一切會怎麼發展。』[8]

2015年3月12日,David Braben說『因為你可以在你的船內走動,像皮革內飾那樣的內容我們也會加入。這並非付費取勝的內容,但實際上還是會讓你的船更加絢麗。』[9]

2015年3月20日David Braben被問及未來漫長的路線圖,他說(5:20處):『嗯,我非常興奮。我已經說了很久,我對我們未來會做的一些功能感到非常興奮,包括像在行星上著陸、在你的飛船裡面走動、走出你的飛船,所有這些東西我都認為是非常非常令人興奮的,顯然這些都在長期路線圖中。』[10]

2016年5月26日,在與David Braben的AMA中,有人問了這樣一個問題『有沒有一個小團隊在做任何關於大氣降落/行走(站內等)的前期工作,還是目前正在開發中?因為這幾乎事關站內行走......』Braben說到:『是的。我們正在進行行星方面的工作,包括大氣層、行星生命、行走以及其他很多未來非常令人興奮的內容。』[11]

2016年04月08日,Braben重申,走動將是未來的更新。他說:『在Kickstarter專案之前和期間有很多討論,關於是否應該能在你的飛船上走動。我們非常詳細地研究了這個問題。最終我們決定關鍵要素必須是:『這是否能讓遊戲更有趣? 』因為這意味著更多額外的工作,它帶來了更多的限制。這是我們會加入的,但會在未來的更新中進行,因為我們需要考慮在人的尺度上,會有哪些加成和樂趣。』[12]

On Foot blockout concept

2017年3月10日,在PAX East的一次問答中,首席設計師Sandro Sammarco表示,『太空腿』在未來是遠遠不夠的:『遠端臨場技術多人共乘在未來將如何與太空腿和EVA玩法結合? 我只想說清楚,太空腿和EVA內容是未來的事。這是一個目標。我和David談過,這一直是他對Elite真正核心願景的一部分,甚至從當初開始,它就一直是關於你是一個人,在真實的未來場景中以人登場,而不僅僅是一艘飛船。不過,我覺得也可以說,『太空腿』實際上是將一個全新的遊戲與《精英》進行連接。我們朝著這個目標邁進,這是我們的最終願景,但我們還沒到那一步,我們……還差很遠。而當它實現的時候,到時候,如果我們到了那時候,如果我們處理得好,我相信我們會有時間來統整出任何需要處理的一致性問題。』[3]

2017年4月11日,在The Commanders Release Livestream(10:10)中,Braben確認太空腿即將到來,而且是計畫中的,但並不是迫在眉睫。聊天中有人問『我們會有機會玩上太空腿嗎?不必明確說什麼時候,只要說長遠、中期還是近期就行了。』Braben說:『它就要來了,但顯然不是迫在眉睫,但它就要來了,而且是有計畫的。』[13][14]

飛行服戰鬥素描

2017年10月4日Zac Antonaci說:『太空腿(社區對它們的稱呼)是David B和開發團隊非常興奮的內容,它肯定是他們想加入功能清單中的重要部分。然而,正如我們之前提到的,太空腿是更進一步的東西。在2.4之後,我們將專注於核心遊戲體驗,所以這不是我們會在Frontier Expo上公布的東西。不過我不得不說,我真心希望社區對FX上透露的內容感到興奮。』[15]

2018年1月27日,Sandro Sammarco說『團隊和我都認為太空腿是我們很想添加的功能,並且是我們規格中的最高級別,但這是不會在Beyond季度中會進行的事情。我們稍後會再談這個問題。』[16][17]

2018年8月31日,Zac Antonaci公布了一個重要的社區更新,並發佈了相關資訊。『前段時間,我們的開發從預製作進入了全面製作階段,這是我們《精英》開發的下一個重要里程碑。簡單來說,團隊正在積極地進行下一個重大里程碑的開發,這將使我們的《精英》進入下一個時代。在相當長的一段時間內,我們還不會準備好談論或公佈任何細節,現在還處於開發初期,還有很長的路要走,但我可以說,這是一個將安排在Beyond系列最終更新後相當長一段時間內發佈的東西。我們將在《Beyond-第四章》推出後公佈更多關於這究竟意味著什麼以及時代將如何推出的細節,但這確實意味著一些令人興奮的下一步,以及對遊戲和我們社區的長期願景的持續承諾[18]。』

當Wolvie說『感謝Zac的更新,很高興聽到一些老實的評論,因為幾個月來焦點回饋上一直都很平靜。我是一名擁有終身擴展包通行證(Lifetime Expansion Pass)的Beta支持者,我一直將《精英》的開發視為一段旅程而非競賽,我很期待接下來的發展。』[19]

Antonaci回應道:『謝謝Wolvie,希望你會喜歡下一段旅程。』[20]

指揮官編年史:啟航

2018年6月26日,Frontier Development發布了劇情短片『指揮官編年史:啟程』。這是第一次使用《精英:危機四伏》遊戲引擎進行飛行員行走動畫的演示。一個指揮官在太空站上的停機坪行走,然後使用升降機進入Krait MkII。他進入駕駛艙,其他兩位指揮官正在那裡等待,坐上主駕駛位,然後控制飛船起飛,離開空間站,並跳入超空間[21]

任務包洩露

2018年10月,在公測伺服器影片檔案夾中發現了一些任務包視頻,其中有站立和說話的NPC[22]

其中一部影片帶有音效,當中有一名明顯看起來是任務提供者的人物來回搖擺,向你提供一個你可能感興趣的任務,說你應該去他們的指揮艦。還有幾段無聲的影片,是同一個任務執行者坐在那裡對著鏡頭簡短地說話。

Odyssey 揭露

2020年6月3日,Frontier Developments宣佈遊戲的第二個擴展包《精英危機四伏:奧德賽》將於2021年第一季度推出。與其他主要功能一同推出的是徒步功能,這之前被遊戲社群和開發者非正式地稱為『太空腿』,這是多年來為這個備受期待的功能所取的名字。『奧德賽』的Pre-Alpha預告片顯示三名指揮官身穿裝甲太空服,手持武器,徒步走過一個乾旱的陸地星球,大概是無法呼吸的大氣,指揮官們到達一個小型的地表結構,而此時Anaconda也在附近降落。[23]『奧德賽』最終於2021年5月19日於PC平台推出。[24]

另見

視頻

畫廊

參考文獻

  1. Elite 4 - Issue 95 of Edge Magazine
  2. [1]
  3. 3.0 3.1 Elite Dangerous LIVE from PAX East part 2! (在68:04)
  4. Elite: 危險發展計畫
  5. Elite: 危險通訊#29
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Elite: 危險通訊#32
  7. 7.0 7.1 Live Chat David Braben - 'No Such Webpage.com (2014-06-13)
  8. Elite: 危險的發展計畫(託管在Kickstarter頁面上--2014年12月)
  9. Interview: David Braben談粉絲的憤怒和期望
  10. Elite: Dangerous - David Braben訪談,Gamereactor,5:20。
  11. Ask Him Anything: David Braben, Elite的聯合創始人、樹莓皮基金會的聯合創始人、Frontier的負責人
  12. [http://www.kotaku.co.uk/2016/04/08/the-making-of-elite-dangerous The Making of Elite: 危險--Kotaku(2016年4月8日)】。
  13. Ask Him Anything: David Braben OBE, FDev CEO
  14. Brabens大師今天在Reddit AMA的結束語。11/4/17
  15. Frontier Expo ED猜測(2017年10月4日)
  16. Elite Dangerous Beyond - Chapter One : Notre interview de Sandro Sammarco, Lead Designer (2018年1月27日)
  17. [https://forums.frontier.co.uk/showthread.php/397639-Elite-Dangerous-2018-Roadmap-Regularly-Updated?p=6734711#post6734711 《精英危險》2018年路線圖 定期更新 。
  18. 2018年8月31日論壇帖子 Zac Antonaci
  19. Wolvie論壇帖子2018年8月31日
  20. Zac Antonaci Forum Post 31 August 2018
  21. Commander Chronicles: 升空(2018年6月26日)
  22. Videos in the Beta Files - October 2018
  23. Frontier Forums: 危險精英:奧德賽公告 奧德賽公告
  24. Frontier Forums: Elite Dangerous: Odyssey PC Launch Date

Category:指南

Advertisement

Elite Dangerous Wiki
Advertisement

Elite Dangerous: Odyssey key art depicting Commanders standing on a terrestrial world

On Foot activities, formerly tentatively referred to as "Space Legs", is a feature introduced in Elite Dangerous: Odyssey that allows the player to take direct control of their in-game avatar and explore the game without needing to pilot a ship, Ship-Launched Fighter, or Surface Recon Vehicle.

Overview

On Foot activities allow players to interact with the galaxy in new ways, and also add two related Pilots Federation ranks to master. For the first time in Elite Dangerous, players can disembark from their ships inside ports and on planetary surfaces to explore and engage in combat. Undertaking On Foot activities requires managing new equipment, and new items classified as Components, Goods, and Data offer new ways to profit and unlock upgrades.

Mercenary work

Main article: Mercenary

Mercenary work focuses on practically all instances of On Foot combat. This can range from accepting missions involving objectives at settlements, which can involve both legal and illegal actions, to signing up with Frontline Solutions as a hired gun for a warring minor faction, to investigating remote points of interest and scavenging valuables from wrecks or smuggling caches. As the player kills more personnel and completes more missions, they advance their Mercenary rank.

On Foot missions can be shared with all players who are in a Team by selecting the "Share" button on any mission transaction panel. Team members can individually accept or decline a shared mission invitation. Sharing a mission limits the rewards for participants to credits, reputation, or items, while the mission host retains the option to select an influence reward. If a mission involves obtaining a specific item, that mission item will be automatically moved the mission host's inventory when boarding a ship or departing the mission area. If a team member is critically injured and is holding a mission item, they will drop that item, allowing other team members to collect it and continue the mission.[1]

Exobiology

Main article: Exobiologist

Exobiology focuses on identifying and cataloguing alien flora found on planetary surfaces using the Genetic Sampler tool. Upon assembling a complete organic sample from partial samples of the same species, that complete sample can be redeemed at Vista Genomics for credits. The first player to log a particular species in a galactic region will receive discovery credit in the Codex. As the player documents more alien flora, they advance their Exobiologist rank.

The Concourse

Main article: Concourse

Concourses are public common areas found at most ports, including Stations and Surface Port facilities. Players can disembark from their ships after docking and take a lift directly to the local Concourse. The Concourse is the only way to access certain services that are exclusive to On Foot activities:

Points of Interest

A new series of Points of Interest designed around On Foot and SRV activities present additional opportunities for combat and scavenging.

Equipment

To carry out On Foot activities, players have access to a selection of weapons, devices, and other personal gear. While On Foot, players also use a specialised HUD and the multifunctional InSight Hub personal info interface, which can be used to check the player's inventory, summon an Apex Interstellar Transport shuttle, activate Emotes, and more. Handheld Weapons and suits can be upgraded using Components, Goods, and Data, and they can also be Engineered.

NPC Personnel

There are different types of NPC personnel that can be encountered at settlements or points of interest. Their role determines which weapons and tools they are carrying, and what level of security authorisation they have at the settlement where they are stationed.

Role Equipment Settlement
Authorisation Level
Administrator 3
Commando
Enforcer Karma L-6
Pilot
Scientist
Scout
Sharpshooter Manticore Executioner
Striker
Worker

Restrictions

Disembarking from a ship for On Foot activities is only possible on planets that fall within certain parameters. Ships cannot land on planets that have an atmosphere denser than 0.1 atm, and players cannot disembark onto planetary surfaces if the planet's gravity is 2.7 G or greater, if the external temperature exceeds 700 K, or if the player's ship has a broken canopy. If a planet has a surface temperature greater than 700 K where it is lit by a star, it may still be possible to disembark there by landing on the dark side, where the temperature may fall to a safe range. Be aware that when crossing from the dark side of a planet to the light side while On Foot, the player will begin taking damage if the temperature rises above 700 K.

Development

Character concept art, Edge Issue 95 (2001)

EVA atmospheric escape

The first Elite 4 concept art in issue 95 of Edge magazine (March, 2001) included an early stage model of a female character with a weapon.[2]

Since the 2012 Kickstarter campaign there has been concept art of extravehicular activities. This ranges from people walking in a station to first person combat and ship repairs. There is a 3D blockout of a station with a 3D character holding a weapon. Docked ships are loaded with cargo and flying drones carry cargo containers.

The The Future of Elite: Dangerous video (November 7, 2014) has 9 out of 10 people looking most forward to walking around in ships, space stations, planets etc.[3]

It has always been a core vision of David Braben that the player is a person in a real futuristic setting, not just a ship.[4] In the Elite Dangerous Development Plan video (December 14, 2012), Braben talks about walking on planets, in ships, other people's ships, stations, vehicles and being a big game hunter with animals. The ships have been designed with interiors in mind.[5] Multicrew and Holo-Me are the foundation for On Foot functionality.

Roadmap

A walking pilot in a hangar with an Anaconda

Frontier has a roadmap with small, free updates in addition to expansions with significant new features and content which they intend to release. It mentions EVA in no particular order:[6]

  • Walking around interiors and combative boarding of other ships
  • Combat and other interactions with other players and AIs in the internal areas of star ports

Newsletter #32 confirms the following: "We plan to continue to significantly enhance the game via further expansions after the launch date, using the same incremental development philosophy that we’ve used so far. Major new features will include planetary landings and even walking around inside ships, stations, and planet surfaces with time."[7]

"We also plan to allow you to get up out of your seat and walk around your ship. You can see the level of attention and thought that has already been given to the ship interiors."[7]

"Of course walking round your ship will be nice, but it is the just springboard for a very significant expansion of gameplay – you will be able to experience the inside of starports and interact with other players and AI characters, and even board other people’s ships in space and take them by force, as shown in this concept piece. Of course this will be further expanded to include walking around on the surfaces of planets too."[7]

An interview on 13 June 2014: "Pryrios: When you say we will walk inside ships and stations, are you thinking in first person view or third person view over the shoulder? If it's third person view, are you planning on doing some character creator to make different characters for players?"[8]

"David Braben: First person."[8]

Development plan on the Kickstarter page (December 2014): "You will be able to walk around the spaceport, you will be able to see gold being loaded into someone else's ship, you will be able to sneak in and hide in amongst the cargo. All of those things are phenomenal game play opportunities where that ship might actually be the ship of another player, so just think where that all ends."[9]

On 12 March 2015, David Braben said "as you can walk around inside your ships, things like leather upholstery are also things that we can do. It’s not a pay-to-win thing but actually makes your ship more shiny."[10]

On March 20, 2015 Braben was asked about the long roadmap ahead and he said (at 5:20): "Well I'm very excited. I've said over a long time I'm very excited about some features that we will do down the road including things like landing on planets, walking around inside your spaceship, getting out of your spaceship, all of those things I think are very very exciting and obviously those are in the long-term roadmap."[11]

On May 26, 2016 during an AMA with David Braben, this question was asked "Is there a small team doing any preliminary work on atmosphere landings / walking (in stations etc) currently being looked at? As it is almost there for walking in station..." Braben said "Yes. We have ongoing work on planets, including atmospheres, planetary life, walking about and lots of other very exciting things for the future."[12]

On 08 April 2016, Braben reiterated that walking around will be a future update. He said: “There was a lot of discussion prior to and during the Kickstarter project as to whether you should be able to walk around in your ship. We looked at that in great detail. Ultimately we decided the arbiter has to be, ‘Does it make the game more fun?’ Because it’s a lot of extra work and it brings in more constraints. It’s something we will do, but it’ll be in a future update because we need so many things on a human scale for that to be additive and enjoyable.”[13]

On Foot blockout concept

On March 10, 2017 during a Q&A at PAX East, lead designer Sandro Sammarco said "Space Legs" was way off in the future: "How will Telepresence and Multicrew work in the future with Space Legs and EVA gameplay? 'Just to set the record straight, Space Legs and EVA gameplay, that's way off in the future. That's a goal. I've talked to David and it's always been part of his core vision for what Elite really is, even from way back in the day, it's always been about you're a person in a real futuristic setting, not just a ship. However, I think it's also fair to say Space Legs is effectively dovetailing a whole new game into Elite. We take steps towards it, it's our end vision, but we're not there yet, we're... it's a long way off. And when it does, by the time, if we get there, if we manage it, I'm sure we'll have the time to sort out any consistencies that need to be sorted out."[4]

On April 11, 2017 during the The Commanders Release Livestream (at 10:10), Braben confirmed that space legs is coming and is planned, but it's not imminent. A person in the chat asked "Will we get space legs at some point? If yes don't say when, but answer with long, medium or short." Braben said: "It's coming, but obviously it's not imminent, but it is coming and it is planned."[14]

On 11 April 2017, Braben's closing statement of a Reddit AMA: "The future for Elite Dangerous is very exciting, including a whole raft of incredible features, yes including 'space legs' but so many more things too. We have such a great community, and we're really glad that you guys share our passion and support us."[15][16]

Flight suit combat sketch

On October 4, 2017 Zac Antonaci said "Spacelegs (as the community are dubbing them) is something that David B and the development team are very excited by and it’s certainly high on the list of features they would like to make. However, as we’ve mentioned before, “Spacelegs” is something further down the line. After 2.4 we’ll be focusing on the core gameplay experience so it’s not something that we will be announcing at Frontier Expo. I do have to say though, I truly hope that the community are excited by the content being revealed at FX."[17]

On January 27, 2018 Sandro Sammarco said "The team and I all see Space Legs as the feature we will love to add and are at the top of our specification, but it's something that will not happen in the Beyond season. We will talk more about it later."[18][19]

On August 31, 2018 Zac Antonaci posted an important community update with relevant information: "A while ago, our development went from pre-production into full production on our next major milestone of Elite development. What that means in the simplest terms is that the team are actively working on the next major landmark which takes us into our next era for Elite. We aren’t going to be ready to talk about or announce any details for quite a while yet, it is early in the development and there is still a long way to go, but I can say that this is something that will be scheduled to release a considerable time after the final update in the Beyond series. We will have more details on exactly what this means and how the era will roll out after the release of Beyond – Chapter Four, but this does mark some exciting next steps and a continued commitment to the long term vision for the game and our community."[20]

When Wolvie said "Thanks for the update Zac, it's good to hear some honest comments as things have been quiet for several months on the Focused Feedback. I'm a Beta Backer with Lifetime Expansion Pass and have always seen Elites development as a journey not a race, I'm looking forward to what comes next."[21]

Antonaci responded:"Thanks Wolvie, I hope you enjoy the next leg of the journey."[22]

Commander Chronicles: Lift-Off

On June 26, 2018, Frontier released the cinematic video Commander Chronicles: Lift-Off. This was the first demonstration of pilot walking animations using the Elite Dangerous engine. A Commander is shown walking across a station Landing Pad, then using a lift to enter a Krait MkII. He enters the cockpit, where two other Commanders are waiting, sits in the primary pilot seat, and then controls the ship as it lifts off, departs the station, and jumps into hyperspace.[23]

Mission Pack leak

In October 2018, a few mission pack videos with standing and talking NPCs were discovered in the public test server movies folder.[24]

There is one video with sound, which has an apparent mission-giver swaying back and forth, offering you an assignment you may be interested in, saying you should make your way to their command ship. There are also several silent videos of the same mission-giver seated talking to a camera briefly.[24]

Odyssey reveal

On June 3, 2020, Frontier Developments announced the game's second expansion, Elite Dangerous: Odyssey, would release in Q1 2021. Among other key features, Odyssey included On Foot functionality, at the time referred to by the community and unofficially by the developers as "Space Legs", a name coined over the years for the highly-anticipated feature. The pre-alpha trailer for Odyssey showed three Commanders in armoured space suits with weapons walking on foot across an arid terrestrial world with a presumably non-breathable atmosphere. The Commanders arrive at a small surface structure just as an Anaconda touches down in an adjacent landing zone.[25] Odyssey was released on PC on May 19, 2021.[26]

See also

Videos

Gallery

References

  1. Frontier Forums: Odyssey Update 5
  2. Elite 4 - Issue 95 of Edge Magazine
  3. The Future of Elite: Dangerous
  4. 4.0 4.1 Elite Dangerous LIVE from PAX East part 2! (at 68:04)
  5. Elite: Dangerous Development Plan
  6. Elite: Dangerous Newsletter #29
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Elite: Dangerous Newsletter #32
  8. 8.0 8.1 Live Chat David Braben - No Such Webpage.com (2014-06-13)
  9. Elite: Dangerous Development Plan (hosted on Kickstarter page - Dec 2014)
  10. Interview: David Braben On Fan Anger And Expectations
  11. Elite: Dangerous - David Braben Interview, Gamereactor, 5:20
  12. Ask Him Anything: David Braben, co-creator of Elite, co-founder of the Raspberry Pi Foundation, and Frontier's head honcho
  13. The Making of Elite: Dangerous - Kotaku (8 April 2016)
  14. Elite Dangerous 2.3 - The Commanders Release Livestream at 10:10
  15. Ask Him Anything: David Braben OBE, FDev CEO
  16. Master Brabens' closing statement from the Reddit AMA today. 11/4/17
  17. Frontier Expo ED Speculation (October 4 2017)
  18. Elite Dangerous Beyond – Chapter One : Notre interview de Sandro Sammarco, Lead Designer (27 January 2018)
  19. Elite Dangerous 2018 Roadmap (Regularly Updated)
  20. 31 August 2018 Forum Post Zac Antonaci
  21. Wolvie Forum Post 31 August 2018
  22. Zac Antonaci Forum Post 31 August 2018
  23. Commander Chronicles: Lift-Off (26 June 2018)
  24. 24.0 24.1 Videos in the Beta Files - October 2018
  25. Frontier Forums: Elite Dangerous: Odyssey Announcement
  26. Frontier Forums: Elite Dangerous: Odyssey PC Launch Date
Advertisement