精英危险中文站 维基
Advertisement

海盜是一個角色,涉及犯罪與懲罰。從其他船隻上盜取商品,然後銷售貨物以獲取利潤。當被盜商品需要在黑市上出售時,海盜行為也與走私重疊。傳統的海盜通過恐嚇商人礦工,將海盜自己的優勢火力轉化為快速和輕鬆的經濟回報,海盜搶得貨物,因為商人與礦工經常為了貨物空間或採礦工具而放棄武器和防禦措施,海盜迫使他們放棄一部分或全部貨物,以換取被允許完整地離開現場。然而,許多海盜在搶劫時也會破壞他們的受害者,無論是自衛還是出於惡意,這引起了當地安全部隊和賞金獵人的注意。當海盜賺取的信用點超過他們在維護和升級船隻上的花費時,他們被認為是成功的。

海盜行為

海盜可以在銀河系的任何地方活動,但低安全系統是最有利可圖的。海盜在無政府系統和無政府小派系的系統中盛行。獵殺海盜不會獲得賞金,而且在無政府系統中沒有NPC是安全的。

值得注意的是,如果你最後停靠的是你擁有或獲得賞金的小派系所擁有的,你會在該站重生,如果你的船被摧毀,就必須把賞金付清。因此,在無政府狀態系統中,最好將你的最後一個接駁點保持在一個該系統的

海盜行為需要使用幾個特定的模組才能成功運作。能夠在不同系統之間追蹤目標需要一個空間摺叠訊號掃描儀。海盜必須用空間摺叠攔截器|迫使目標脫離超級巡航。接下來,海盜必須能夠確定船隻所攜帶的貨物種類,如果有的話。這需要一個貨艙掃描器。如果沒有這個,海盜就無法判斷飛行員是否攜帶有價值的貨物,或者貨物的類型和數量。然後,海盜必須通過武力獲得貨物,如果必要的話。這意味著直接破壞目標的貨物艙口,或者通過使用貨艙門破壞無人機。最後,海盜的船必須配備貨物架來存放被搶奪的貨物。可以使用收集無人機來更有效地拾取被處理的貨物。有效地做好這些任務決定了你是否能獲得利潤。

選擇適當的是海盜成功的關鍵。適當的攻防能力是需要的。足夠的速度是必要的,以不被運輸者和其他船隻超越。船隻必須有足夠的內艙空間來承載所有模組和貨架。

打劫NPC

進出星站的NPC船載著反映車站經濟的貨物。各自的進口和出口是基於系統狀態和背景類比。NPC船還可能攜帶一系列昂貴的稀有商品[1]因此玩家可以在富裕的星站前哨之間的航道上進行海盜活動,進口或出口昂貴的貨物。比如在星站的禁火區之外等待,或者尾隨運輸船。

海盜任務可以在公告板上找到。

打劫其他玩家

精英》中海盜的理念是簡單。海盜利用的是對被攻擊時完全喪失船隻和貨物的恐懼。飛行員要麼放棄部分貨物來滿足海盜的要求,要麼冒著船毀人亡的危險,用昂貴的保險金來換取貨物的全部損失。海盜可能會使用任何數量的活動來宣告對局勢的主導權,並說服目標合作,(例如--質量鎖定,更快的速度,或優越的火力)。有時,僅僅是一艘大型戰鬥艦的存在就足以給飛行員施加壓力,使其拋棄部分貨物。在精英中,大多數海盜只尋找貨物,不會主動參與PvP殺戮;不過如果飛行員不配合,就會進行攻擊。

一般來說,如果滿足玩家的要求,海盜會讓玩家安然無恙。有些人在事後還是會攻擊殺人。然而,就像其他華麗的任務一樣,那些從事海盜活動的人將開始在飛行員中出名,而那些在接收貨物後破壞目標的人將變得臭名昭著。這樣的海盜被稱為 "玩家殺手",飛行員不太會配合。相反,他們會試圖逃跑或死於戰鬥,這讓海盜一無所有。因此,作為海盜要謹慎行動,遵守自己的承諾,如果你拋棄貨物就不會受到武器傷害,這對長期成功是有利的。

方法

最常見的海盜方法之一是在超級巡航中以低速停留在導航信標周圍,等待玩家跳入一個系統,然後使用FSD攔截器迫使目標離開超級巡航。一旦目標被攔截,並且他們的貨物被掃描,海盜有許多選擇。海盜可以直接用通訊面板或麥克風與玩家對話。目標玩家可能已經意識到他們無法跑得比海盜快或逃出敵火,於是迅速交出一些貨物再繼續前進。或者海盜可以選擇攻擊、破壞貨艙門,直到貨物被彈出。一旦貨物開始被彈出(模組~75-80%健康),建議停止射擊,因為進一步的傷害不會改變船隻損失貨物的數量。一旦貨物停止彈出,你可以再次攻擊貨艙門。貨艙門破壞無人機可以單獨使用,也可以在攻擊貨艙門的時候使用。無人機駭入貨艙所需的時間與目標貨艙艙門模組的健康狀況有關。商人們可能會先拋棄便宜的貨物來吸引注意力,並試圖在拋棄更昂貴的貨物之前跳到超空間。一個貨倉掃描器可以防止這種情況發生,它可以讓你有更多的討價還價的能力,因為它可以提前告訴玩家你知道他們有什麼,你的要求是什麼。

在不使用貨艙門破壞無人機的情況下,也可以打劫玩家。這樣就可以騰出一個模組槽來做別的事情,或者使用內部零件數量比較有限的船。這種方法依靠海盜通過通訊提出要求後,目標手動彈射一些貨物。

向玩家開火可能會讓他們進入恐慌模式,尤其是在他們之前沒有遇到過玩家海盜的情況下。建議先質量鎖定並使用通訊面板

在要貨之前,先下最後通牒 "停止你的引擎,否則我就殺了你。"。將推力歸零比丟貨物更容易做到,所以他們更容易這麼做。從那以後,你就有時間和目標對話了。

當你質量鎖定有一艘飛船後,請說 "放下一半的貨物或失去一切 ",這種方式很好,並且可以讓你被通緝的bounties儘量低。

有時目標不會在通訊中回應,但還是會做你的要求。你還是會得到你想要的東西,這時就可以被認為是成功的。

如果你能說服目標放棄貨物(無所有權)而不是拋棄(被偷的狀態),你可以在正常的商品市場上出售,而不是黑市。有時目標會問你喜歡什麼。

明智地選擇你的目標。因為海盜行為需要特殊的模組,所以你的的攻擊力或防禦力降低(因為你需要用空間換取那些特殊模組)。因此海盜的戰鬥力就不能像同等級的賞金獵人飛船,所以用較小較慢的船去打劫商船是最理想的。你可以跟在他們後面,大規模鎖定他們,他們也殺不了你。

提示

  • 無政府狀態下的系統,當海盜可以避免以下問題:1.摧毀對方船隻時被懸賞通緝 2. 如果打劫到的貨品是贓物,而被警察貨艙中掃描到,會被重罰。
  • 雖然去高、中、低安全系統進行海盜行為,但是返回無政府系統卸貨。
  • 你的飛船可以比如被32個系統通緝,但是當你無聊了,就換艘船回去那32個系統亂逛也不會被認出(因為他們是對船通緝)。這使得海盜這個職業可行,你隨時都能搖身一變成為大海盜。
  • 大多數海盜並不是只會打劫。他們只是不排除作為額外收入和樂趣的選擇。[2]

NPC海盜

Unsanctioned outpost

NPC海盜通常是任何附有賞金的非玩家船隻(被通緝)。通常他們有兩種類型:隨機和事件。

隨機海盜可以在超級巡航資源採集區(RES)和Nav Beacon內的任何地方找到,並且絕大多數在被破壞的導航信標中。當掃描一艘船時,通常可以通過他們的賞金來識別他們,因為所有的NPC海盜都有某種賞金。這個規模取決於他們的船和等級。在超級巡航中的隨機海盜會試圖攔截玩家,如果他們靠近的話。這通常發生在導航信標之外,不管玩家是否有貨物。奇怪的是,如果玩家攔截了一個海盜,他們不會立即反擊,而只是掃描玩家是否有貨物,如果他們沒有貨物,就會超巡航離開。這些海盜也可以出現在某些不明信號源中,並且經常出現在小隊中。在打撈信號源中,如果沒有看到玩家拿取貨物,他們通常會放著玩家不管。小心NPC小隊,因為像EagleSidewinder這樣的小船通常會有AnacondaFer-de-Lance的陪伴。

事件 海盜是比較容易預測的,對商人來說非常常見。有兩種:一種是追趕你的貨物,另一種是受雇來殺你的刺客。前者可以在你進入超級巡航或跳轉到一個新的系統時產生。他們很容易識別,因為他們總是在攔截前向玩家呼喊他們的大量貨物。貨物運送任務偶爾也會產生它們。你經常會被你的任務雇主告知有敵人要來了。這些海盜總是與他們獵殺的玩家成正比;一個Sidewinder會受到其他SidewinderEagles和偶爾Adder的攻擊。他們的等級總是比你高一兩個等級。刺殺的任務功能大多相同,但更危險。首先他們不關心你的貨物,一旦攔截就會攻擊。他們一般也比典型的NPC海盜駕駛更好的船。這些可以在任務中產生,你會收到關於他們的到來和攻擊的消息,如果你能消滅他們,將獲得獎勵。他們在交付資料和其他合法的非貨物任務中,很少情況下出現,和其他海盜一樣,他們總是有賞金,而且賞金與他們的等級和船隻成比例。

補給任務,你採購指定數量的貨物,有一個相當致命的怪癖。與刺殺不同,這些任務通常會產生海盜,每個任務有70%的幾率。此外,這些海盜的等級比刺客高。例如,一個Type-9通常會遇到Viper MkIII等船隻,在極少數情況下會遇到Python。而這些任務的海盜非常常見是飛Anaconda的。他們有一個非常高的等級,如精英,而玩家是低至勝任。建議在這些任務中要認真謹慎,不要大量接取。注意,小隊任務沒有這個問題。

刺客以外的海盜在掃描你的時候總會要求你提供一定數量的貨物,如果你有的話,否則他們會不滿的離開。順應他們的要求就會滿足他們的要求,將"Jettison all cargo"(拋棄所有貨物)命令綁定在一個按鈕上以備不時之需。注意,在某些情況下,海盜會在收到貨物後立即再次追擊玩家。所以只有在逃跑或戰鬥不是選擇的情況下才建議這樣做。

對付海盜

你可以通過瞭解海盜的運作方式,使用防禦技巧和一點運氣來避免成為海盜的受害者,並保住你所有的貨物。

  • 避免高風險系統。
  • 小隊的方式旅行。
  • 使用空雷來阻止追擊的船隻。
  • 使用干擾箔條發射器
  • 使用電子反制儀
  • 掌握遊戲機制(即:接受攔截意味著,比起未能避免攔截更快的FSD冷卻時間)。
  • 利用發達的PvP技術和技巧,試圖規避和超越海盜。

===對付NPC海盜===。

  • 如果你傾倒少量貨物,他們會停下來收集。
  • 如果海盜NPC的船比你的好,就跑。

對付玩家海盜 =

  • 海盜經常被指責為令人痛苦者。雖然任何海盜攻擊的受害者可能會將這種行為視為令人痛苦,但海盜會將同樣的情況視為合法的遊戲方式。
  • 盯著通訊面板看海盜提出的要求。
  • 有好的海盜。他們不是仁慈的玩家,但他們擅長海盜。如果他或她跟你說話:聽。如果你先跑或開槍,你很可能會死。
  • 損失一些貨物可能看起來很糟糕,但如果你抵抗海盜並死掉的話,與總運輸量加上重新購買船隻的成本相比,這只是一個小損失。
  • 一個好的海盜知道,如果他在你給了貨物之後殺了你,你很可能會把他加入到他的忽略名單中。這對他的長期利潤是不利的,所以如果你交了貨,他不應該殺你。
  • 如果是開著更好更快的船的玩家,他們會知道不讓你逃跑的技巧,很可能會把你的後方炸掉。所以還是滿足他們的要求比較好(如果他們先開槍,還是跑吧)。
  • 戰鬥日誌避免被殺是不允許的。這會讓你被舉報,你的帳號會被警告,還可能在公共網站上被點名。

PvE 低溫鑽石打劫

從NPC船隻上盜取低溫鑽石(LTD)是非常有利可圖的,Anacondas、Federal Corvettes和Imperial Cutters在高端的情況下可以獲得2-5億Cr的貨物。

首先,尋找一個農業經濟類型(Agriculture economy type)的系統,該系統處於繁榮期(Boom),並且有一個無政府主義Anarchy政府類型。當在該系統中進行超級巡航時,除了三大船之外,還要注意6型運輸船7型運輸船9型重型KeelbackAsp ExplorerDiamondback Explorer。瞄準並掃描這些艦船,如果它們裝備了採礦鐳射,那麼它們就是攜帶LTD礦工。對目標進行攔截,並立即對其開火,防止其摺疊空間。這時,有兩種可靠的方法可以獲得LTD

  • 護盾坦克--對小型船最有效,因為中大型船往往有更好的武器。攻擊目標後,來個全停,最大PIPS的護盾,等待目標在700米到1.2公里之間徘徊。當目標攻擊時,使用貨艙門破壞無人機收集無人機奪取所有貨物,然後離開。請注意,如果目標有裝備點防禦模組,艙門破壞將不會起作用,除非這些模組被摧毀,但離開並尋找另一個受害者可能會更快。
  • 破壞FSD/武器--專為大型艦船設計。裝備能夠快速擊潰護盾或穿透護盾並破壞模組的武器。攻擊目標後,集中精力禁用FSD,並擊潰護盾。接下來,擊潰所有武器,包括點防禦。讓目標試圖逃跑,但由於它無法跳開,最終會自己停下來,有效地讓他投降,讓它的貨物被貨艙門破壞無人機收集無人機帶走。這種方法風險很高,可能會導致目標被無意間摧毀,但也提供了最高的回報。

在使用收集無人機時,將船速降至最低或零,以確保它們不會與船體撞擊而造成LTD的損失。在回到超級巡航後,無論是帶著貨物還是只是選擇另一個目標,在進行另一次攔截之前,一定要等待並躲避NPC海盜的攔截企圖。這樣可以防止NPC海盜掉入並中斷海盜企圖。

需要注意的是,在系統中可用目標太少或沒有可用目標的情況下,切換模式可以重置實例。另外,護盾坦克是可靠的,但不如瞄準和禁用大型船隻的利潤高,所以在可能的情況下,一定要投資和練習第二種方法。

需要和推薦的裝備 - PvE打劫低溫鑽石。

  • FSD攔截器(必須將目標從超級巡航中拉出來)
  • 護盾產生器(如果使用護盾電池戰術,則必須使用,否則可選擇使用,建議採用工程設計)
  • 貨架(由於顯而易見的原因,必須使用)
  • 收集無人機(必須使用,首選A或B級模組)
  • 貨艙門破壞無人機(必須使用,首選A級,如果是遮罩油箱,首選高等級)
  • 光束雷射器或其他反護盾武器(能量護盾電池可選,其餘必須)
  • Pack-Hounds/Seeker導彈/大炮/多炮(盾牌坦克可選,其餘為必選)
  • 護盾增幅器(強制使用,建議採用工程設計)
  • 貨倉掃描器 (可選,只對監測目標持有的LTD剩餘數量有效,否則用Shield Booster替換)

小事

  • 從更新1.5開始,對《精英》中的海盜行為進行了全面修訂,並擴大了 "海盜行為 "的定義。以前,"海盜 "一詞通常只保留給那些會主動尋找並掠奪其他運輸貴重貨物的CMDR玩家,以及任何攔截玩家的通緝犯NPC和填充導航信標、RESUSS站和其他地點的通用術語。在更新1.5中實施修改後,NPC艦船進出網站的貨物現在更能反映每個網站的經濟和各自的進出口情況。[1] 這意味著玩家現在可以選擇在富裕的網站和前哨站之間的航道上進行海盜活動,這些前哨站會進口或出口昂貴的貨物--有時甚至會在網站的禁火區之外等待,或者跟隨貿易船的尾巴。新的和更新的海盜任務也被添加到公告牌中。這些改動為選擇海盜的玩家提供了一條更加開放的道路,有更多的選擇。玩家現在可以從事一種可靠、有利可圖、報酬豐厚的海盜活動,而不必只依靠直接攻擊其他玩家;這也有一個次要的效果,就是減輕了 "海盜 "一詞的社會汙名和影響。由於不需要攻擊其他玩家就可以進行海盜的活動,許多人更有可能公開承認自己是海盜,導致玩家之間對這個職業進行公開討論,有助於海盜這個職業的進一步發展。海盜已經成為一個更有利可圖的職業選擇,有可能獲得比以前更多的收入,而不像以前那樣依賴PvP。[3][4]

指南

視頻

References

Advertisement

FANDOM


Piracy is a role that involves stealing Commodities from other ships and then selling the goods for profit. When stolen Commodities need to be sold on the Black Market, piracy also overlaps with smuggling. Conventional pirates leverage their superior firepower into quick and easy financial rewards by intimidating traders and miners, who acquire their cargo at their own expense and often forego weapons and defenses for the sake of cargo space or mining tools, into giving up a portion or all of their cargo in exchange for being allowed to leave the scene intact. However, many pirates also destroy their victims while robbing them, either in self-defense or out of malice, which draws the attention of local security forces and bounty hunters. A pirate can be considered successful when they make more credits than they expend on maintaining and upgrading their ship.

Piracy Edit

Pirates can operate anywhere in the galaxy, but low-security systems are the most lucrative. Piracy is prevalent in Anarchy systems and systems with a ruling anarchy minor faction. Pirates don't gain a bounty and there's no NPC security in anarchy systems.

It's worth noting that if the last station you were docked is owned by a minor faction you have, or gain, a bounty with, you'll respawn at that station and have to pay that bounty off if your ship is destroyed. Thus it's beneficial to keep your last dock at a station in Anarchy space.

Piracy requires the use of several specific modules to operate successfully. Being able to track down targets between systems requires a Frame Shift Wake Scanner. Pirates must force targets out of supercruise with a Frame Shift Drive Interdictor. Next, a pirate must be able to ascertain what kind, if any, cargo the ship is carrying. This requires a Manifest Scanner. Without that a pirate has no way to tell whether a pilot has value cargo or the type and amount of cargo. Then a pirate must obtain the cargo, by force if necessary. This means directly damaging the target's Cargo Hatch, or by using Hatch Breaker Limpets. Lastly, a pirate's ship must be equipped with Cargo Racks to hold the looted cargo. Collector Limpets can be used to more efficiently pick up disposed cargo. Doing these tasks effectively determines whether you make profit.

Proper ship choice is key to a pirate. Proper offensive and defensive capabilities are needed. Sufficient speed is necessary to not be outrun by haulers and other vessels. The ship must have enough internal space to carry all modules and cargo racks.

Pirating NPCs Edit

NPC ships that enter and leave stations carry cargo reflective of the station's economy. The respective imports and exports are based on the system state and the background simulation. The NPC ships may also carry an array of expensive rare commodities.[1] Thus players can pirate the shipping lanes between wealthy stations and outposts that import or export expensive goods. Such as wait just beyond No Fire Zones of stations or follow the wakes of haulers.

Piracy missions can be found on the Bulletin Board.

Pirating other players Edit

The philosophy of pirates in Elite is one of simplicity. It draws on the fear of total loss of a ship and cargo by the attacking pirate. Pilots either drop some of their cargo to meet the demands of the pirate, or risk destruction and the total loss of their cargo with a pricey insurance payment. Pirates may use any number of activities to assert dominance over the situation and persuade the target into cooperation, (e.g.- mass locking, proving faster speed, or showing superior firepower). Sometimes the simple presence of a large combat ship is enough to pressure a pilot into dumping some of their cargo. In Elite, most pirates only seek cargo and do not actively engage for PvP kills; though will attack if pilots don't cooperate.

Generally, pirates will leave players unharmed if their demands are satisfied. Some will still attack to kill afterwards. However, like any other flamboyant task, those who engage in piracy will start to become known among pilots and those who destroy their targets after receiving cargo will become infamous. Such pirates are known as "player killers," and pilots are less likely to cooperate. Instead, they'll attempt to escape or die fighting which leaves the pirate with nothing. It is therefore beneficial to the long-term success as a pirate to be careful with actions and to keep their promise of no harm if they drop cargo.

Methods Edit

One of the most common methods of piracy involves staying in supercruise at a low speed around a Nav Beacon while waiting for players to jump into a system, then use a Frame Shift Drive Interdictor to force targets out of supercruise. Once a target has been interdicted and their cargo is scanned, the pirate has numerous options. The pirate can start simply by directly talking to the player with the Comms Panel or a microphone. The target player may already realize they cannot outrun or outgun the pirate and quickly hand over some cargo before moving on. The pirate can choose to attack, damage the cargo hatch until cargo is ejected. Once cargo begins to eject (module ~75-80% health), it is advised to stop shooting, as further damage will not change how much cargo the ship loses. Once cargo stops, you can attack the cargo hatch again. Hatch breaker limpets can be used separately or while attacking the cargo hatch. The time needed to hack the cargo hold is related to the health of the target's cargo hatch module. Traders may jettison cheaper cargo first to draw attention away from themselves and attempt to jump to hyperspace before jettisoning more expensive cargo. A Manifest Scanner helps to prevent this and it gives you more bargaining power by telling the player that you know what they have and what your demands are ahead of time.

It's possible to pirate players without using Hatch Breaker Limpets. This frees a module slot for something else or use a ship with a more limited number of internals. This approach relies on the target manually ejecting some cargo after the pirate makes demands over the Comms.

Shooting at players may send them into panic mode, especially if they have not encountered player piracy before. Try mass-locking and using Comms first.

Give the ultimatum "Stop your engines or I'll kill you." before asking for cargo. Zeroing thrust is easier to do than dropping cargo, so they are more likely to do that. From there, you have the time to talk with the target.

When you have someone mass locked say "drop half your cargo or lose all of it" works well and keeps the bounties low.

Sometimes the target will not respond in comms, but will still do your demand. You would still get what you want and can consider it a success.

If you can persuade the target to abandon cargo instead of jettisoning, you can sell it on the normal commodities market instead of the black market. Sometimes the target asks what you prefer.

Pick your targets wisely. Because piracy requires special modules so your ship has reduced offensive or defensive power. Thus it can't fight as well as the same ship outfitted for e.g. bounty hunting. So pirating traders in smaller and slower ships is ideal. You can stay on their tail, mass-lock them and they can't kill you.

Tips Edit

  • Piracy in Anarchy systems solves the problem of 1. Getting a bounty for destruction 2. Heavy fines if stolen goods are scanned in cargo holds.
  • Only visit high, medium, low security systems for piracy excursions, then return to Anarchy to offload goods.
  • You can be the scourge of 32 systems and just change ship and go back to trading when you get bored. This makes piracy viable as a role.
  • Most pirates don't only pirate. They just don't eliminate the option as additional income and fun.[2]

NPC Pirates Edit

Unsanctioned-Outpost-Pirate

Unsanctioned outpost

NPC pirates are typically any non-player ship with a bounty attached to it. Typically they come in two varieties; random and event.

Random pirates can be found anywhere in supercruise, inside Resource Extraction sites and Nav Beacons, and overwhelmingly inhabit Compromised Nav Beacons. When scanning a ship they can usually be identified by their bounty since all NPC pirates have some sort of bounty. This scales depending on their ship and rank. Random pirates in supercruise will attempt to interdict the player if they get close. This commonly happens outside Nav Beacons regardless if the player has cargo or not. Strangely if a player interdicts a pirate they will not fight back immediately and will instead merely scan the player for cargo, then supercruise away if they have none. These pirates can also appear in certain Unidentified Signal Sources and are frequently in a Wing. In salvage signal sources they will usually leave the player alone if they don't see them take cargo. Be careful with NPC Wings, because it's common for a small ship such as an Eagle or Sidewinder to be accompanied by an Anaconda or Fer-de-Lance.

Event Pirates are more predictable and very common for traders. There are two kinds; ones chasing your cargo and assassins hired to kill you. The former can be generated any time you enter Supercruise or jump to a new system. They can be easily identified since they always hail the player for their large cargo hold before interdiction. Cargo delivery missions also generate them occasionally. You will often be told by your mission employer that they are coming. These pirates are always scaled to the player they are hunting; a Sidewinder will be attacked by other Sidewinders, Eagles and occasionally Adders. Their rank is always one or two levels higher than yours. Assassins function mostly the same, but are much more dangerous. For one they do not care for your cargo and will attack as soon as they interdict. They also generally fly better ships than typical NPC pirates. These can spawn during a mission and you will receive a message about their arrival and attack and will gain a bonus if you can eliminate them. They spawn on rare occasions for delivering data and other legal non-cargo missions. Like other pirates, they always have a bounty and it scales with their rank and ship.

Supply runs, where you source a designated amount of cargo, have a rather deadly quirk. Unlike assassins, these missions commonly spawn pirates, a 70% chance per mission. Furthermore, these pirates have a higher level than assassins. For example, a Type-9 normally encounters ships such as Viper MkIIIs and on very rare occasions Pythons. While pirates for these missions very commonly fly Anacondas. They have a very high rank such as Elite while the player is as low as Competent. It's advised to take serious caution on these missions and don't take them in bulk. Note that Wing Missions don't have this issue.

Pirates other than assassins always demand a certain amount of cargo when they scan you; if you have any, otherwise they will leave disgruntled. Complying will satisfy them and it's useful to have the Jettison all cargo command bound to a button for emergencies. Beware, in some cases pirates can chase the player again immediately after receiving the cargo. So this is only advisable if escaping or fighting isn't an option.

Playing against pirates Edit

You can avoid becoming a victim of piracy and keep all your cargo by knowing how pirates operate, using defensive techniques, and a bit of luck:

  • Avoid high risk systems.
  • Travel in wings.
  • Use mines to deter pursuing ships.
  • Use chaff.
  • Use ECM.
  • Become efficient in breaking frame shift interdictions, know the mechanics of the game (i.e.- submitting to interdiction means a faster FSD cooldown time than failing to avoid interdiction).
  • Utilize developed PvP techniques and tricks to try to circumvent and outmaneuver pirates.

Dealing with NPC pirates Edit

  • If you dump a small amount of cargo they will stop to collect it.
  • If a pirate NPC is in a better ship than you, run.

Dealing with player pirates Edit

  • Pirates are often accused of being griefers. While the victim of any pirate attack may view such actions as griefing, the pirate(s) will view the same situation as a legitimate way to play the game.
  • Keep an eye on the comms to see demands made by the pirate.
  • There are good pirates. They aren't benevolent players, but they're good at piracy. If he or she talks to you: listen. If you run or shoot first, you will likely die.
  • Losing some cargo might seem bad, but it's a small loss compared to the cost of total haul plus ship rebuy if you resist the pirate and die.
  • A good pirate knows that if he kills you after you have given cargo, you will likely add him to his ignore list. That is bad for his long term profits so he shouldn't kill you if you give up cargo.
  • If it's a player in a better, faster ship they will know the tricks to not let you get away and will likely blow your rear off. So it's better to meet their demands (or run anyway if they shoot first).
  • Combat Logging to avoid getting killed is not permitted. It will get you reported and your account warned and possibly name-shamed on public sites.

PvE Low Temp Diamonds Piracy Edit

Pirating Low Temperature Diamonds from NPC vessels can be extremely lucrative, with Anacondas, Federal Corvettes, and Imperial Cutters yielding 200-500 million credits of cargo at the high end.

First, look for a system with an Agriculture economy type that is in Boom and has an Anarchy government type. While supercruising in the system, watch for Type-6 Transporters, Type-7 Transporters, Type-9 Heavys, Keelbacks, Asp Explorers, or Diamondback Explorers in addition to the big three ships. Target and scan these ships; if they are equipped with a Mining Laser, then they are a miner carrying LTD. Interdict the target and immediately fire on it to prevent it from High Waking. At that point, there are two reliable methods of acquiring the LTD:

  • Shield Tanking - Most effective against small ships, as medium and large ships often have better weapons. After attacking the target, come to a full stop, max pips in shields, and wait for the target to hover between 700 meters and 1.2 km away. While the target attacks, use Hatch Breaker Limpets an Collectors to seize all of the cargo and then depart. Note that if the Target has Point Defence modules equipped, Hatch Breaking will not work unless those modules are destroyed, but it may be faster to leave and find another victim.
  • Disabling FSD/Weapons - Designed for large ships. Equip weapons capable of quickly taking down shields or penetrating them and damaging modules. After attacking the target, focus on disabling the FSD and dropping the shields. Next, disable all weapons, including Point Defence. Allow the target to attempt to flee, but since it cannot jump away, it will eventually come to stop on its own, effectively surrendering and allowing its cargo to be taken with Hatch Breakers and Collectors. This method is high-risk, and may result in the unintentional destruction of the target, but it also offers the highest reward.

Reduce ship speed to minimum or zero while using Collector Limpets to ensure that they do not impact with the hull and cause the loss of LTDs. After returning to supercruise, whether with cargo or just to select another target, be sure to wait for and evade an interdiction attempt by an NPC pirate before undertaking another interdiction. This will prevent an NPC pirate from dropping in and interrupting a piracy attempt.

Note that switching modes can reset an instance in the event that there are too few or no available targets in a system. Also, shield tanking is reliable, but not nearly as profitable as targeting and disabling larger ships, so be sure to invest in and practice the second method when possible.

Required and recommended equipment PvE Low Temperature Diamond piracy:

  • FSD Interdictor (mandatory to pull target from supercruise)
  • Shield Generator (mandatory if shield tanking, otherwise optional, engineering suggested)
  • Cargo Racks (mandatory, for obvious reasons)
  • Collector Limpet Controller (mandatory, A or B rated module preferred)
  • Hatch Breaker Limpet Controller (mandatory, A rated preferred, high class preferred if shield tanking)
  • Beam Lasers or other anti-shield weapons (optional for shield tanking, mandatory for the rest)
  • Pack-Hounds/Seeker Missiles/Cannons/Multicannons (optional for shield tanking, mandatory for the rest)
  • Shield Boosters (mandatory, engineering suggested)
  • Manifest Scanner (optional, effective only to monitor how many LTDs left in the target's hold, otherwise replace with a Shield Booster)

Trivia Edit

  • As of Update 1.5, Piracy in Elite was overhauled and the definition of "piracy" broadened. Previously, the term "Pirate" was normally reserved only for players who would actively seek out and prey on other CMDRs hauling valuable cargo, as well as the generic term for any Wanted NPCs that interdict players and that populate Nav Beacons, R.E.S., USS sites, and other locations. After the changes implemented in update 1.5, NPC ships entering and leaving stations now carry cargo more reflective of each station's Economy and its respective Imports and Exports. These NPC ships may also carry an array of expensive rare commodities.[1] This means that players can now choose to pirate the shipping lanes between wealthy stations and outposts that import or export expensive goods - sometimes even laying in wait just beyond No Fire Zones of stations or following the wakes of trade ships. New and updated piracy missions were also added to the Bulletin Board. These changes provided a more open-ended path with more choices for players choosing piracy. Players can now engage in a form of piracy that is reliable, lucrative, and well-paying without having to rely on only attacking other players directly; this also had a secondary effect of lessening the social stigma and impact of the term "Pirate." Since it's possible to carry out the activities of a pirate without having to attack other players many are more likely openly admit to pirating, leading to open discussion about the profession between players and helping to further piracy as a career. Piracy has become a more lucrative career choice with the potential for a much larger income less reliant on PvP than it had been previously.[3][4]

Guides Edit

Videos Edit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 http://imgur.com/zZOHoOp
  2. https://forums.frontier.co.uk/showthread.php/456085-Why-anyone-want-to-be-a-pirate-in-Elite-universe/
  3. https://forums.frontier.co.uk/showthread.php?t=199470
  4. https://forums.frontier.co.uk/showthread.php?t=201170
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.